LITTLETON ENERGY CONSERVATION COMMITTEE

MISSION STATEMENT

Consistent with the town's energy policy, the purpose of the Littleton Energy Committee (ECC) is to promote energy conservation and efficiency practices, with a local and regional focus, by educating the private sector and advising the public sector in the areas of cost reductions and sustainable, renewable energy sources.

ENERGY POLICY [from the Littleton Master Plan]

Being both environmentally aware and fiscally conservative, the Town of Littleton is committed to maximizing energy conservation and efficiency. Initial steps have been taken toward this goal, but much more remains to be done that will challenge residents, non-profits, businesses, and municipal organizations to work together in unprecedented ways. There is also a significant economic development potential for local entrepreneurs by promoting the use of renewable energy from local resources and providing energy efficient products and services.

DEFINITIONS

- Energy Conservation The objective of conservation is to reduce the current energy load. The traditional three R's of energy conservation are Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle.
- Energy Efficiency Once energy conservation techniques have been employed to the maximum feasible, the goal of energy efficiency is to make improvements in the use of the load. The most significant reduction in emissions and cost will come from substantially increasing energy efficiency.

HISTORY AND GOALS

In 2007, the Littleton Town Meeting passed the New Hampshire Climate Change Resolution, part of a statewide effort that resulted in approval of the resolution by 164 towns. As a direct result of the resolution, Littleton's Board of Selectmen authorized the formation of the ECC. The three watch words for the committee are Incentives, Education, and Advice. The overall goals of the ECC were established as:

- Reduce energy consumption town wide
- Conserve natural resources
- \succ Save money
- Reduce reliance on fossil fuels

MEETING SCHEDULE

The ECC meets on the second Wednesday of the month at 9 AM at the Littleton Community Center.

MEMBERSHIP (As of 6 October 2014)

➢ VOTING MEMBERS

Chairman, Arwen Mitton (2017)

Vice Chair, Rodney Edwards (2016)

Secretary, Ron Bolt (2015)

Mary Boulanger (2016)

Peter Cooper (2016)

Dann (2015)

Bill Latulip (2017)

Greg Cook (2015)

Henri Wante (2017)

➢ NON-VOTING MEMBERS

Marghie Seymour, Board of Selectmen Representative

Fred Moody, Town Manager

Steve Kelley, Chairman, Town/School Budget Committee

Tom Considine, Littleton Water & Light, Consultant

David Van Houten, President, Ammonoosuc Regional Energy Team

Jan Edick, Consultant